Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

The John and Helen Schaefer Masterworks series

Aram Demirjian, conductor

Rossini: Overture to The Italian Girl in Algiers
Haydn: Symphony No. 60 in C Major, “Il Distratto”
Caroline Shaw: Entr’acte
Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite

  • Rossini’s opera is a fine work – but the rip-roaring overture is where the action is. Sheer fun!
  • Haydn’s No. 60 makes use of music he wrote for a play, Le Distrait, by Jean-François Regnard
  • In 2013, at the age of 30, Caroline Shaw won the Pulitzer Prize for music.
    Entr’acte (a minuet & trio) was inspired by Haydn
  • Written for an adaptation of a commedia dell’arte libretto, Stravinsky later described writing the Pulcinella Suite as the epiphany through which the whole of his later work became possible

Presented by
Splendido at Rancho Vistoso