Loading Events

The Mrs. Dorothy Dyer Vanek Classic Series

Manuel Hernández-Silva, conductor
Paul Huang, violin

Barber: Adagio for Strings
Barber: Violin Concerto
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 12 in D Minor, “The Year 1917”

  • Recipient of the prestigious 2015 Avery Fisher Career Grant and 2017 Lincoln Center Award for Emerging Artists, Paul Huang is quickly gaining attention for his eloquence, distinctive sound, and effortless virtuosity
  • Barber’s Adagio for Strings was popularized by its use in the Oscar® winning film Platoon and his violin concerto is among the most performed twentieth century concertos
  • Dmitri Shostakovich walked a political tightrope with the 12th by composing a tribute to Lenin while championing the oppressed at the same time

“An artist with the goods for a significant career.”

– Washington Post