Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Jessica Cottis, conductor
Julian Schwarz, cello

Adès: Three Studies from Couperin
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1
Mozart: Symphony No. 29

Julian Schwarz makes his Tucson Symphony debut performing a concerto composed for one of the greatest cellists of the 20th century, Mstislav Rostropovich. One of Mozart’s finest early symphonies, composed when he was 17, shows a mature composer in command of his craft as he balances lyrical grace with vigorous energy. Adès’ 2006 piece, Three Studies from Couperin, features melodic material from a popular harpsichord piece by the French Baroque composer, organist and harpsichordist.

Complimentary “Concert Comments” with the conductor and guest artist take place one hour before the performance and give you insight into what you’re about to hear.