Beethoven Symphony No. 4

Home/Masterworks Series/Beethoven Symphony No. 4
Loading Events
This event has passed. Scroll down to watch virtual events after the premiere release.

The John and Helen Schaefer Masterworks series

José Luis Gomez, conductor
Homero Cerón, marimba
Chris Herman, marimba
Fred Morgan, marimba
Matthew Timman, marimba

Séjourné: Concerto for Four Marimbas and Strings, “Gotan”
Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B♭ Major

  • Séjourné (b. 1961) is a French composer/percussionist and teaches at Conservatoire de Strasbourg
  • Robert Schumann called the fourth “a slender Greek maiden between two Norse giants” (the more ponderous 3rd and 5th symphonies)

“The four percussionists playing mostly marimbas will produce a very earthy/woody feel while the support from strings provides a smooth and lushy complement to the rhythmic feature. It will be a fresh and new experience for people.”

– Homero Cerón, Principal Percussion

Presented by
Splendido at Rancho Vistoso

Go to Top