Beethoven × 2

Home/Masterworks Series/Beethoven × 2
Loading Events
This event has passed. Scroll down to watch virtual events after the premiere release.

The John and Helen Schaefer Masterworks series

José Luis Gomez, conductor

Coleman: Imagining the Dance World Premiere
Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F Major
Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 in D Major

  • Hear the premiere performance of a new work by Dan Coleman, TSO Composer-in-Residence
  • Beethoven wrote Symphony No. 8 in 1812 at the age of 41. He referred to the generally light-hearted (but not lightweight) No. 8 as “little Symphony in F,” distinguishing it from Symphony No. 6, a longer work also in F
  • The surprise and humor of No. 2’s Scherzo became central qualities of Beethoven’s musical personality found in later works

Presented by
Splendido at Rancho Vistoso

Go to Top