Copland & Goodman

Home/Masterworks Series/Copland & Goodman
Loading Events
This event has passed. Scroll down to watch virtual events after the premiere release.

Keitaro Harada, conductor
Boris Allakhverdyan, clarinet

Piazzolla: Tangazo
Copland: Clarinet Concerto
Villa-Lobos: Sinfonietta No. 1
Márquez: Danzon No. 4
Guarnieri: Danças Brasileiras No. 1 from Three Dances for Orchestra

  • Benny Goodman commissioned Aaron Copland to write the Clarinet Concerto and Copland composed it in Rio de Janeiro where he was working as a conductor and lecturer in 1947.
  • Boris Allakhverdyan was appointed principal clarinet of the Los Angeles Philharmonic in 2016.
  • Keitaro Harada is in his fourth season as Associate Conductor or the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and Cincinnati Pops.
  • Brazil’s greatest composer and musical ambassador Heitor Villa-Lobos, based Sinfonietta No. 1 on two unspecified themes by Mozart: one he describes as “delicate and subtle” to suggest the European aristocracy of the 18th century; the other is “violent, deep and mysterious” to represent “characteristics of German genius.”

Presented by:
Splendido at Rancho Vistoso

Go to Top