Home/Copland’s Appalachian Spring/Copland’s Appalachian Spring
Loading Events

This concert is available as part of a Masterworks Series Subscription.

Buy a Subscription

Individual event tickets go on sale August 1, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

This concert will be preceded by Concert Comments, a pre-concert talk, beginning one hour before each performance.

José Luis Gomez, conductor

María Teresa Prieto: Chichén Itzá
Samuel Barber: Symphony in One Movement
Jennifer Higdon: Cold Mountain TSO Co-Commission
Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite

Copland’s evocative Appalachian Spring, originally written for the Martha Graham Dance Company, has become an American classic. It’s the climax of this Pan-American program that includes Spanish composer Maria Teresa Prieto’s Chichén Itzá, inspired by the Mayan ruins in Mexico, and a suite of music from Jennifer Higdon’s opera Cold Mountain, specially co-commissioned by the TSO.

Go to Top