Home/Mozart and Prokofiev/Mozart and Prokofiev
Loading Events
This event has passed. Scroll down to watch virtual events after the premiere release.

José Luis Gomez, conductor
Claire Thai, harp
Alexander Lipay, flute

Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1, “Classical”
Claire Thai: Harp Concerto (Commission by Tucson Symphony Orchestra, World Premiere)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for Flute and Harp
Igor Stravinsky: Suites Nos. 1 & 2 for small orchestra

José’s Take:

Of all that Tucson Symphony Orchestra does, nothing touches my heart more than its Young Composers Project, in which young Tucsonans learn to write music for symphony orchestra. Claire Thai graduated from the program in 2019, and she’s now a harp student at Philadelphia’s Curtis Institute of Music. I’m proud that this is the fourth time under my watch that we’ve commissioned music from a Young Composers alum and performed it on our subscription series.

This concert is at a different venue from the rest of the Masterworks series. See the venue information for more detailed travel information.

Venue Information
Go to Top