Home/Masterworks Series/Zhang plays Mendelssohn
Loading Events

This concert is available as part of a Masterworks Series Subscription.

Buy a Subscription

Individual event tickets go on sale August 1, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

This concert will be preceded by Concert Comments, a pre-concert talk, beginning one hour before each performance.

José Luis Gomez, conductor
Dean Zhang, piano

Chelsea Komschlies: A Hidden Sun Rises
Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2

Dean Zhang, TSO’s exciting principal keyboard, makes his solo debut in one of the first concertos of the Romantic era. And it was Mendelssohn the conductor who led the first performance of his colleague Robert Schumann’s Symphony No 2, an astonishing work given the mental struggles that afflicted the composer. Maestro Gomez was so impressed by Chelsea Komschlies’ A Hidden Sun Rises, first heard at the TSO during the 2022 EarShot readings, that he immediately wanted to introduce this short work to a wider audience.

Go to Top