Home/Classic Series/Rachmaninoff’s Second
Loading Events

This concert is available as part of a Classic Series or Create Your Own Subscription.

Buy a Subscription

Individual event tickets go on sale August 1, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

This concert will be preceded by Concert Comments, a pre-concert talk, beginning one hour before each performance.

Aram Demirjian, conductor
Bella Hristova, violin

Arturo Márquez: Conga del Fuego Nuevo
Florence Price: Violin Concerto No. 1
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2

Buoyed by the success of his Piano Concerto No. 2, Rachmaninoff entered the happiest and most productive period of his personal and professional life. The result was the sweeping lyrical romanticism of his Second Symphony, a superb showcase for the TSO. A hip-swinging Conga from Mexico’s leading composer, Arturo Márquez, is followed by the Violin Concerto No. 1 of Florence Price, a mid-20th century African-American composer only now receiving the recognition her music richly deserves. Bulgarian-American violinist Bella Hristova makes her long-awaited TSO debut.

Photo by Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

Go to Top