Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

José Luis Gomez, conductor & violin

Mozart: Serenade No. 12 for Winds in C Minor, K. 388/384a “Nacht Musique”
Mozart: Serenade No. 6 for Strings in D Major, K. 239 “Serenata notturna”
Haydn: Symphony No.103, “Drumroll”

  • Maestro José Luis Gomez makes his TSO performing debut as first violin in Mozart’s Serenade for Strings.
  • A showcase for the winds, Mozart’s Wind Serenade was written in 1782 for pairs of winds: 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 horns and 2 bassoons.
  • Joseph Haydn, treated like a rock star by British audiences, composed Symphony No. 103 on his second visit to the country in the mid-1790s.
  • Nicknamed “Drumroll” because of the solo timpani drumroll that begins the piece, the solo drumroll appears again near the end of the first movement, but never returns for the remainder of the piece. The second movement was so well-received at the premiere that it was performed twice.

Presented by:
Splendido at Rancho Vistoso