Home/Haydn’s Symphony No. 104/Haydn’s Symphony No. 104
Loading Events

This concert is available as part of a Masterworks Series Subscription.

Buy a Subscription

Individual event tickets go on sale August 1, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

This concert will be preceded by Concert Comments, a pre-concert talk, beginning one hour before each performance.

José Luis Gomez, conductor
Hayato Tanaka, trumpet

Teresa Carreño: Serenata
Eino Tamberg: Trumpet Concerto No. 1
Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 104

The TSO’s principal trumpet Hayato Tanaka takes center stage for Eino Tamberg’s virtuosic concerto, one of the best-loved works by the Estonian composer. Maestro Gomez introduces the Serenata by the legendary 19th-century Venezuelan pianist/composer Teresa Carreño, for whom the home of the Venezuela Symphony Orchestra is named, and concludes with the last of Haydn’s 12 London symphonies, indeed his final and arguably greatest symphonic statement, No. 104.

Hayato Tanaka’s appearance is underwritten by Shirley Chann.

Go to Top